My Nutrition Plan…

Prawn, avacado & pasta salad

I wouldn’t say that I’m vastly over weight but I do have weight to shift and if I want to get round a middle distance triathlon for 6 hours, I need to be light, nimble & eat the correct nutrition between now and race day.

Twenty years ago if you’d met me you most probably wouldn’t recognized me as the same person I am today. It’s not that I was Jabba the Hut in proportions but I was certainly going that way. Anyway, I took things in hand, joined a slimming club, lost a load of weight and then just stayed at the same still too heavy weight…..for a long, long, long time.

Then I found out about Sal. (Thanks Mitts)

Sal is a nutritionist and writes eating plans. Not just any old eating plan but a plan that gives me a nutritious intake of balanced healthy, simple & delicious food. No low sugar this or low fat that or let’s kick the shit out of food & rebuild it again kind of stuff but good, old fashioned, full fat, 3 quality meals a day kind of food. Not only this but her experience in personal training means that she can give nutrition advice based around my own training schedule. It’s been a revaluation & education for me. Plus I don’t have to write my own food plan each week, hurrah!

What do Sal’s plans give me?
1) A robust immune system
2) High energy foods at the right time
3) Building blocks to repair my body
4) A varied food intake

The results through 2013 were amazing, very gradually and before I knew it I was down from a size 12-14 to a healthy size 8 to 10 – and I didn’t even really register it.  Anyway 6 months of consultancy work in London saw the weight & fat pile on so with The Gauntlet fixed as my ‘A’ race for the 2014 I’m back on plan 100%.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment